Annual Meeting Update

President Richard Schmidt welcomed members and guests to the celebration of the 40th annual meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society at the beautiful Westin Resort and Spa at Whistler, British Columbia, June 18-22, 2005. Dr. Jonathan White assembled an outstanding scientific program as this yearís Scientifi c Program chairman. One of the outstanding features of the Society’s annual meeting is the active participation of the attendees in discussions following the presentations and this yearís program stimulated an informative exchange of ideas.

Our honored guests, Dr. Kim Burchiel, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery at Oregon Health and Science University, and Dr. Alex Valadka, Associate Professor of Neurosurgery at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, highlighted the scientifi c program. Dr. Burchiel is well known to us all for his pioneering work in pain and functional and stereotactic surgery. He enlightened us with an outstanding presentation on the management of facial pain with essential practical clinical information of value to all who treat patients with these disorders. Attendees were brought up to date by Dr. Burchiel on present knowledge and advances in the expanding field of functional neurosurgery, with particularly valuable information on management of Parkinsonism.

Dr. Valadka broadened our understanding of management of traumatic brain injury and shared current research on this common injury. Of keen interest to all was Dr. Valadka’s paper on socioeconomic issues surrounding trauma, an area in which he is widely recognized for his insight.

The scientific program once again covered an unusually broad spectrum of neurosurgery and offered an excellent opportunity in a casual and informal atmosphere to discuss current topics of interest to us all. This year’s Resident Award for best scientifi c paper presented by a resident went to Dr. Todd McCall, University of Utah for Cervical Catheter Tip Placement for Intrathecal Baclofen Administration. The Academy Cup, presented annually to the best paper by a member or an associate member went this year to Dr. Jon Ledlie for his presentation on kyphoplasty.

Once again we were fortunate to have beautiful weather in spectacular natural surroundings for the golf and tennis tournaments. The ladies tennis tournament was won by Liz Jensen and the mens prize was taken by Dr. Kris Smith. Dr. Jon Ledlie won the mens golf tournament and Laura Schmitt of Las Vegas took the ladies low gross while the ladies low net went to Andi Ledlie. The annual business meeting of the Society was well attended. A drive to expand the membership was discussed and members are encouraged to nominate colleagues for active membership. A database for nominees has been assembled and letters advising the nominees are forthcoming.

The following business was conducted:

Elected as officers by the membership:

President: Dr. John McVicker
President Elect: Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock
Vice President: Dr. Randy Jensen

Committee assignments:

Scientific Chairman: Dr. Paul Elliot
Local Arrangements: Dr. John McVicker


Continued service:

Secretary: Dr. Michael Brown
Treasurer: Dr. Joel MacDonald
Historian: Dr. Lee E. Krauth
CME Committee: Dr. Jon White
Website Administrator: Dr. Joel MacDonald

Nominating Committee:

Dr. Albert H. Capanna (2006)

Dr. Vance MacDonald (2007)

Dr. Richard Schmidt (2008)
Membership Committee:

Dr. Kris Smith (2006)

Dr. Richard Day (2007)

Dr. Paul Francel (2008)


The following candidates were voted into membership:

Dr. J.D. Day

Dr. Lyle Leibrock


The 41st Annual Meeting, jointly sponsored by The American Association of Neurological Surgeons, will be held June 10-13, 2006 at Sedona, Arizona. Sedona will offer a warmer climate than recent sites and the schedule will be altered accordingly. The golf and tennis tournaments will be held in the cooler morning hours with afternoon scientifi c sessions. Dr. John McVicker will serve as the local arrangements chairman. Please mark these dates now and plan to join us at this outstanding venue with, once again, outstanding facilities for the scientifi c meeting and outdoor activities. If you have any questions you may contact Dr. McVicker via e-mail at Also, information will be available along with online registration soon at

Dr. Paul Elliot will be this year’s Scientific Program Chair. Once again the Society will welcome two honored guests to be announced soon. Look for further information on our website in the coming weeks. We will also hope to have a presentation from the CNS Speakerís Bureau. The Academy Cup will be presented for the best paper from an active or associate member of the society. The Cup was initiated to honor the teaching career of Dr. Howard Morgan. The Resident Award offers a $400 cash prize plus travel expenses. Please label “Resident Award” on the abstract form when submitting. Abstract forms are enclosed with this mailing or may be submitted on line at Presentations should last approximately twenty minutes.

Please note the deadline and send completed forms to Dr. Elliot at:

Paul Elliot, M.D.
701 E. Hampden Ave., Suite 510
Englewood, CO 80113-2776
Phone 303-788-4000
Fax 303-788-4801


Abstract forms should be submitted no later than January15, 2006 to Dr. Elliot.

Respectfully sibmitted,
Michael W. Brown, M.D.,