Annual Meeting Update

President John McVicker welcomed members and guests to the 41st Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society in Sedona, Arizona, June 10-14, 2006. The Sedona Hilton, set among beautiful red rock formations, was the outstanding setting for this year’s meeting. Dr. Paul Elliott assembled an outstanding variety of scientific papers followed by frank and open discussions of the various topics. These discussions among the members are one of the highlights and major attractions of the annual meeting. Our honored guests, Dr. Daniel Resnick, Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Wisconsin and Dr. Raymond Sawaya, Professor and Chairman of Neurosurgery at the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas highlighted this year’s scientific program.

Dr. Sawaya shared with us his vast experience regarding management of both metastatic and primary brain tumors. Many valuable lessons, accumulated in his experience, helped attendees understand the rationale for managing patients with these difficult diseases. Dr. Resnick focused on spinal disorders, giving a particularly insightful presentation on management of upper cervical spine disorders. He also brought attendees up to date on Evidence Based Guidelines for Lumbar Spine Surgery. The scientific program once again offered a very broad spectrum of neurosurgical interests and a uniquely open and casual atmosphere for discussion. This annual opportunity for open discussions and sharing individual experiences is one that should not be missed.

This year’s Resident Award for the best scientific paper went to Scott Wait, Barrow Neurological Institute, for his presentation, Transsphenoidal Resection of Craniopharyngioma: Results of 12 Consecutive Cases. The Academy Cup, presented annually to the best paper by a member or an associate member of the society went this year to Dr. Ron Apfelbaum for his outstanding presentation, C1-2 Internal Fixation Techniques: A Review of Proposed Options and Data to Support Them. Dr. Apfelbaum was also presented the newly established Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding contribution to the Society over the years.

Warm weather and outstanding facilities along with spectacular vistas formed the background for this year’s golf and tennis tournaments. The tennis tournament featured 64 attendants with the ladies winner once again being Liz Jensen. The men’s tennis tournament was taken this year by Kris Smith. Dr. Smith also won the men’s low net in the golf tournament. The low gross winner in the golf tournament was Dr. Harry Tate. The women’s low gross golf champion was Andie Ledlie with the low net prize going to Kim Hood.