Jointly Sponsored by
AANSPresident Mary Kay Gumerlock welcomed members and guests to the 42nd Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, June 16-20, 2007. The meeting was held in the beautiful setting of the Spring Creek Ranch, high above the town of Jackson with spectacular views of the Teton mountain range. Dr. Jodie Levitt, as the scientific chairperson, assembled an outstanding variety of scientific papers. Our honored guests, Dr. Mark Hadley, Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Alabama, and Dr. Michael Bliss, Professor of History at the University of Toronto and author of the book Harvey Cushing: A Life in Surgery, highlighted this year’s scientific program.

Dr. Hadley reviewed with us his extensive work in the area of evidence based guidelines for management of acute cervical spine trauma and spinal cord injuries. He further discussed the concept of perfusion pressure management in the perioperative treatment of spinal cord pathology. His knowledge and experience in the field of spinal pathology, combined with a well organized yet casual presentation of the material lead to an invaluable learning experience and stimulated vigorous discussion.

Dr. Bliss regaled us with riveting historical tales of Harvey Cushing and the origins of neurosurgery. He shared with us some of the incredible details that he was able to glean through his careful perusal of Dr. Cushing’s writings, affording us all an enlightened perspective of the man that most consider the Father of Neurosurgery. His discussion of the Cushing – Dandy Controversy, the factors that shaped the early development of neurosurgery, and the implications and connections to our current neurosurgical culture, was most fascinating.

The general scientific program once again offered a broad spectrum of neurosurgical topics in an atmosphere that stimulated and encouraged open and vigorous discussion. This opportunity for open discussions and the sharing of individual experiences remains one of the highlights and major attractions of the RMNS annual meeting.

This year’s Resident Award for the best scientific paper presented by a resident went to Hayan Dayoub from the University of Oklahoma, for his presentation, Overexpression of Dimethylarginine Dimethylaminohydrolast Inhibits ADMA Induced Endothelial Dysfunction in Cerebral Circulation. The Academy Cup, presented annually to the best paper by a member of the society went this year to Dr. Larry Tice from Grand Junction, CO for his outstanding presentation, Carotid Endarterectomy: Experience in the Endovascular Age.

As usual, the golf and tennis tournaments were a highlight of this year’s meeting. Liz Jensen swept the Ladies’ tournaments, taking home the titles in both golf and tennis. The men’s tennis tournament was won again this year by Kris Smith. Al Capanna took home the trophy in the men’s golf tournament.

The annual business meeting of the Society was well attended by the members present at the meeting. The following business was conducted:


Elected as officers by the membership:
President: Dr. Bob Beatty
President Elect: Dr. Joel MacDonald
Vice President: Dr. Jonathan White
Secretary: Dr. Stewart Levy
Committee assignments:
Scientific chairman: Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock
Local arrangements: Dr. Richard Schmidt
Continuing service:
Treasurer: Dr. Randy Jensen
Historian: Dr. Al Capanna
CME Committee: Dr. Robert Replogle
Nominating Committee:
Dr. Richard Schmidt (2008)
Dr. John McVicker (2009)
Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock (2010)
Membership Committee:
Dr. Richard Day (2008)
Dr. Paul Francel (2008)
Dr. Stuart Goodman (2008)
Dr. Jodie Levitt (2009)
Member at Large:
Dr. Brett Dietze


The following candidates were voted into membership:

Dr. Peter Sorini Dr. Babu Welch
Dr. Brian Snell Dr. Eric Sincoff
Dr. Stuart Kaplan Dr. Charles Rich
Dr. John Dorman Dr. Ganesh Rao

The 43rd Annual Meeting, jointly sponsored by the AANS, will be held June 14-18, 2008 in Park City, Utah at the elegant Park City Hotel. The hotel is situated on the edge of the spectacular Park City Golf Course and within walking distance of downtown Park City. Dr. Richard Schmidt will serve as local arrangements chairman and is planning another outstanding calendar of events. Park City is located about 25 miles from Salt Lake City, offering very easy access from the SLC airport. The area offers a wide variety of recreational activities for members, guests, and their families. Please mark your calendar and plan to attend the annual meeting in this mountain resort paradise.

The society will once again welcome two honored guests to be confirmed in the coming weeks. We encourage you to submit abstracts for the annual scientific program online at The Resident’s Award will once again be presented to the outstanding paper presented by a resident with a cash prize of $400 plus travel expenses. Members of the society can also compete for the Academy Cup presented in honor of the teaching career of Dr. Howard Morgan. Presentations should be approximately 20 minutes. We hope to see you in Park City!