Jointly Sponsored by

President Robert Beatty welcomed members and guests to the 43rd Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society in Park City, Utah, June 14-18, 2008. The meeting was held at the beautiful Hotel Park City, adjacent to the Park City Golf Course. Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock, as the scientific chairperson, assembled an outstanding variety of scientific papers. Our honored guests, Dr. Peter Black, Professor of Neurosurgery at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Kim Burchiel, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at Oregon Health and Science University, highlighted this year’s scientific program.

Dr. Black discussed the treatment of meningiomas and low grade gliomas, and the use of intra-operative MRI. Dr. Burchiel presented a new classification scheme for trigeminal neuralgia, and discussed treatment strategies and outcomes. He also reviewed “state of the art” techniques for movement disorder surgery. The general scientific program once again offered a broad spectrum of neurosurgical topics in an atmosphere that stimulated and encouraged open and vigorous discussion. This opportunity for open discussions and the sharing of individual experiences remains one of the highlights and major attractions of the RMNS annual meeting.

This year the resident papers were all so good, awards were given to each resident who presented at the meeting. Resident Award recipients included Michael Finn, Frank Bishop, Mandy Binning and Peter Kan, all from the University of Utah, and Kelly Schmidt from UT Southwestern. The Academy Cup, presented annually to the best paper by a member of the society went this year to Dr. Kris Smith from Phoenix, AZ, for his innovative and provocative study on Long Term Survivors with Glioblastoma Multiforme treated with Up Front Gliadel, Gamma Knife Radiosurgery, and IMRT.

As usual, the golf and tennis tournaments were a highlight of this year’s meeting. Liz Jensen won the Ladies’ tennis tournament again this year, and Dawn Capanna won the Ladies golf tournament with both the low net and low gross scores. Lee Krauth took home the trophy in the men’s golf tournament, and the men’s tennis tournament was won again this year by Kris Smith.

The annual business meeting of the Society was well attended by the members present at the meeting. The following business was conducted:


Elected as officers by the membership:

President: Dr. Joel MacDonald
President Elect: Dr. Jonathan White
Vice President: Dr. Paul Elliot
Committee assignments:
Scientific chairman: Dr. Jonathan White
Local arrangements: Dr. Howard Morgan
Continuing service:
Treasurer: Dr. Randy Jensen
Secretary: Dr. Stewart Levy
Historian: Dr. Al Capanna
CME Committee: Dr. Robert Replogle
Nominating Committee:
Dr. John McVicker (2009)
Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock (2010)
Dr. Robert Beatty (2011)
Membership Committee:
Dr. Richard Day (2008)
Dr. Paul Francel (2008)
Dr. Stuart Goodman (2009)
Dr. Jodie Levitt (2010)
Member at Large:
Dr. Brett Dietze


The following candidates were voted into membership:
Dr. Samuel Barnett

Dr. Naina Gross
Dr. Kerry Brega

Dr. Omar Jimenez
Dr. J. Stuart Crutchfield

Dr. Joseph Sramek
Dr. J. Brett Gentry
The 44th Annual Meeting of the RMNS, jointly sponsored by the AANS, will be held June 20-24, 2009 at the Alyeska Resort in Girdwood, Alaska. This is the same resort where the meeting was held in 2000, and everyone is very excited to return for another fabulous experience. The hotel is under new management and is being remodeled, so it should be even better than last time. The opening reception will be at the restaurant at the top of the mountain. Activities may include a BBQ at a gold mine, an excursion to Portage Bay Glacier, or fishing in Seward. Optional activities further a field include excursions to Denali or the Arctic Circle. Dr. Howard Morgan, serving as the local arrangements chairman, is working to finalize the calendar of events and is putting together an amazing array of activities for members, guests, and their families. The Alyeska Resort is located about 40 miles from the airport in Anchorage, offering easy access with a rental car.

The society will welcome Dr. Doug Kondziolka and Dr. Rusty Rodts as our honored guest speakers for the 2009 scientific program. We encourage you to submit abstracts for the annual scientific program online at The Resident’s Award will be presented to the outstanding paper presented by a resident, with a cash prize plus travel expenses to the next year’s meeting. Members of the society can also compete for the Academy Cup presented in honor of the teaching career of Dr. Howard Morgan. Presentations should be approximately 20 minutes. Please mark your calendars and plan to attend the 2009 annual meeting. We hope to see you in Alaska!