President Richard Day, MD welcomed members and guests to the 51st Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society, jointly provided by the AANS, in Whitefish, MT, June 18‐22, 2016. Dr. Joseph Sramek did a superb job with his arrangements for us at The Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Dr. Mark Mahan was our Scientific Program Chairman and prepared a stimulating scientific program. Our Honored Guests were Dr. Richard Ellenbogen, Professor & Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery at the University of Washington and Dr. Anthony Asher, Carolina Neurosurgery & Spine Associates.

The general scientific program, once again, offered a broad spectrum of neurosurgical topics in an atmosphere that simulated and encouraged open and friendly discussion. This opportunity for unencumbered collegial discussions and the sharing of individual clinical experiences remains one of the highlights and major attractions of the RMNS annual meeting. Our social events calendar was also attended with enthusiasm.

The Academy cup was awarded to Mark Mahan, MD for his wonderful lecture led “Biomechanics of high‐velocity stretch injury to peripheral nerves”. The first place Resident Award went to Michael Karsy from the University of Utah. Second and third place went to Jian Guan and Walavan Sivakumar respectively, Both from University of Utah. Each program was reimbursed $500 per resident to help offset travel expenses. We will continue to do this in the future in order to encourage programs to send their residents to the meeting.

This year attendees also enjoyed a social program consisting of a number of activities including an authentic Western Barbecue at the Bar W Ranch with wagon rides, trap shooting, a bonfire and wonderful entertainment. Several adventure activities that were well attended included whitewater rafting on the Middle Fork of the Flathead River and the zip line and aerial adventure courses at Whitefish Mountain Resort. Time honored Golf and Tennis Tournaments were a success and the evening couldn’t have been better for the Awards Banquet which was at The Lodge on the lakeshore of Whitefish Lake.

The annual business meeting of the Society was well attended by the members present at the meeting. The following business was conducted:

Elected as Officers by the Membership:

• President: Kelly Schmidt MD
• President Elect: Brett Dietze MD
• Vice President Michael Seiff MD
• Secretary: Joseph Sramek MD

Continuing Service:

• Treasurer: Brad Duhon MD
• Historian: Albert Capanna MD
• Web Site Administrator: Joel MacDonald MD

Committee Assignments:

• Scientific program: Mark Mahan MD
• Local arrangements: Kris Smith MD
• CME Committee: TBD

Nominating Committee:

• Stewart Levy MD (2016)
• Paul Elliott MD (2017)
• Paul House (2018)

Membership Committee:

• Paul Elliott MD
• Kelly Schmidt MD
• Paul House MD

New Members:

• Mark Mahan, MD (Salt Lake, UT)
• Michael Finn, MD (Aurora, CO)
• Joshua Krass, DO (Kalispell, MT)
• Stephen Campbell, MD (Kalispell, MT)
• Jeffery Larson, MD (Coeur d’Alene, ID)
• John McGregor, MD (Columbus, OH)

The 2017 52nd Annual Meeting of the RMNS, jointly provided by the AANS, will be held June 17th‐21st at The Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe. Dr. Kris Smith is serving as the local arrangements chairperson, and is putting together a wonderful array of activities for members, guests and their families. The Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe is a AAA Five Diamond mountain resort located mid‐mountain at Northstar, California. The resort is just a 10-minute drive from Lake Tahoe, the largest alpine lake in North America with crystal clear waters, many beaches and access to a plethora of water activities. The Village at Northstar is also close by with adventure activities for adults and kids, shopping and dining. Other nearby activities include Fly Fishing, Hiking and Mountain Biking or explore the nearby mountain town of Truckee with its quaint downtown full of unique dining options and specialty boutiques. At the end of the day, gather around the fire pit, with the Ritz Carlton Marshmologist to enjoy freshly made s’mores or an evening cocktail. The meeting will promise to provide not only stimulating scientific discussions, but lifelong memories!

Abstracts for the annual scientific program can be submitted online at rockymountainneurosurgicalsociety.org. The deadline for submission is March 30, 2017. The Resident’s Award will be presented to the outstanding paper presented by a resident, with a cash prize plus travel expenses. Members of the society who submit an abstract are eligible for the Academy Cup, presented each year to the best presentation by an RMNS member. Presentations should be approximately 20 minutes, including me for questions and discussion. Please mark your calendars and make early plans to aend the 2017 annual meeting. We hope to see you in Lake Tahoe!