Annual Meeting Update

The 38th Annual Meeting of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society, jointly sponsored by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, will be held June 21st through 25th at Big Sky, Montana. Dr. Lee Krauth serves as Local Arrangements Chairman. We think that you will find the experience at Big Sky to be very unique and rewarding, especially for those who have families. Big Sky is approximately a 30 minute drive from Yellowstone National Park and opportunities for outdoor activities, including gold medal fly fishing, horse back riding, hot air ballooning, white water river rafting, and of course visiting Yellowstone National Park are present.

The accommodations at Big Sky are first class. Dr. Krauth personally recommends most people book their rooms in the Summit Hotel with either a regular hotel room or a one or two bedroom suite. For those who are a little bit more budget conscious or would enjoy a bit more rustic room, Dr. Krauth recommends the Shoshone suites, which are very spacious, completely remodeled and are pretty much done in a log decor. These suites have full kitchens and ample living space and would be excellent for families. Although the Huntley Lodge is also available, Dr. Krauth feels most of our members would appreciate the amenities available through the Shoshone suites or the Summit Hotel.

The best way to get to Big Sky is to fly into Bozeman, Montana, rent a car and drive to the resort, which is approximately a 50-minute drive from the airport down a very scenic river canyon. When booking your reservations at the Big Sky Resort, you may call directly to the resort at 800-548-4486 or 406-995-5758. Please be sure to let them know that you are attending the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society Meeting, as our room rates are discounted approximately 20 to 30%over the normal charge for this time of year.

You will find this years social program included in this newsletter. In keeping with the new tradition, resort casual attire will be considered appropriate at the annual banquet. As always, we will be treating the children to the ?Coketail Party? during the opening reception. Our Western Barbecue and Dance gives us an opportunity to kick up our heels western-style. The Golf and Tennis Tournaments will be as hotly contested as ever. Don’t forget to register for these events on the enclosed registration form. If there are any questions or problems, please contact Dr. Krauth at 303-788-4000 or email at leekrauth@rmna. net.

We very much look forward to seeing everyone this summer. We know that this will be an extremely enjoyable meeting at a very spectacular resort in Big Sky country. Scientific Program Dr. Howard Morgan and Dr. Jonathan White will be this years Scientific Program Co-chairs. For the second time, the Academy Cup will be presented to the best paper from a practicing (active or associate member)neurosurgeon. Dr. M. Gazi Yasargil and Dr. Kevin T. Foley are our honored guests. Check out the scientific meeting schedule in this mailing, and don ?t forget to bring your copy to the meeting as we will have limited extra copies available. As in the past, Firing Line cases are encouraged. Please consider bringing special or difficult intracranial or spinal cases for discussion with Drs. Yasargil and Foley .


Certification of continuing medical education is under the able direction of Dr Paul Elliott and the CME Committee. This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essentials and Standards of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint sponsorship of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society, Inc. The American Association of Neurological Surgeons is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians. The American Association of Neurological Surgeons designates continuing medical education activity for a maximum of 16 hours in Category 1 credit toward the AMA Physician’s Recognition Award. Remember, each physician should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in educational activity. Exhibitors
This year we have the pleasure of welcoming the following exhibitors to the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society’s annual meeting. Additional exhibitors are still in the process of making plans to attend. Don’t forget to thank your local representative for their support.


Synthes Maxillofacial
Guilford Pharmaceutical
Cook Vascular
Stryker Leibinger
Medtronic Sofamor Danek

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee and the Executive Committee are reviewing the following applicants for membership in the Society. Final approval will be determined by a vote of the membership at the annual business meeting in Montana:

Dr. Kevin Morrill
Dr. Michael Seiff
Dr. Stuart Goodman
Dr. William Couldwell
Dr. Marcus Keep


In addition, the Executive Committee of the RMNS has nominated Dr. Edward C. Benzel, Director of Spinal Disorders at the Cleveland Clinic, for honorary membership. Dr. Benzel will be presented at the annual business meeting for election to honorary membership in the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society. The Society encourages membership applications from those practitioners within our geographic boundaries who specialize in neurosurgery or the allied neurosciences. Applications are available through the Secretary of the RMNS (see address below)and must be submitted six months in advance of the annual meeting in order to be considered for membership that year. The condolences of the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society are expressed to the friends, family and colleagues of Dr. William McKinney. Our Society also acknowledges the loss of Carole Tate and extends heartfelt condolences to Dr. Harry Tate, friends and family.

Other News

The Spring and Fall Newsletters and registration materials are now being submitted to the RMNS website administrator, Dr. Joel MacDonald, for posting on our informative website, . ON-LINE REGISTRATION for our annual meeting is also available. If you ?ve misplaced your registration or housing materials, want to submit a late abstract, or just need to remind yourself (or spouse)about meeting specifics, you can easily access the materials at . On-line registration for our annual meeting is FAST and EASY, so give it a try! The reproduction of the RMNS historical archive into electronic format HAS BEEN COMPLETED! Look for it at the meeting and soon, on line at our website. Our historian, Dr. Krauth, is requesting submission of any digital photographs of past or future meetings to facilitate inclusion in the new digital archives. The member directory will be updated twice annually, during the annual dues cycle and again after the annual meeting. The Secretary and Treasurer have streamlined this process by going to a single secure member database that both officers can access and update. Please be sure to send any corrections and updates to your membership information or mailing addresses to the Secretary:

John H. McVicker, M. D. , Secretary, RMNS
701 E. Hampden Ave. Suite 510
Englewood, CO 80110

* 2003 annual dues statements have gone out. Don’t forget to submit them to:

Dr. Richard Schmidt, M. D. , Treasurer, RMNS
University of Utath
50 North Medical Drive
Salt Lake City, Utah 8413