Jointly Sponsored by


Peaks Resort
Telluride, Colorado
June 26th – 30th, 2010

The 2010 Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society Meeting will be held from June 26 through June 30, 2010 at the Peaks Resort in Telluride, Colorado. This promises to be a spectacular location for the scientific presentations as well as for fun and recreation with family and friends.

The Peaks Resort is located at the Telluride Ski Resort in the heart of the San Juan Mountains in southwest Colorado. The Peaks has been recently renovated and will be even more luxurious than the last time the society held the annual meeting there in 1996. Dr. Mary Kay Gumerlock is serving as the local arrangements chairperson, and is putting together an exciting array of activities for members, guests, and their families. The San Juan Mountains around Telluride abound with opportunities for outdoor recreation, including hiking, mountain biking, fishing, golfing, white water rafting, horseback riding, or just plain relaxing. Other nearby activities include a breathtaking ride along the Durango to Silverton narrow gauge railroad or a visit to the Mesa Verde cliff dwellings and the Four Corners area. The annual golf tournament will be on Monday and the tennis tournament on Tuesday. The Opening Reception will be Saturday evening on the veranda, and the Awards Banquet will be on Tuesday night, the 30th of June; both will be held at the Peaks Resort.

Travel, Lodging, and Registration Information

Telluride is located in the San Juan Mountains in southwest Colorado, between Montrose and Durango, and can be accessed by beautiful drives from the surrounding states, or by daily flights into Montrose or Durango, or with connections directly into Telluride. Rooms at the Peaks Resort are being held under the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society. Additional information on the hotel and the surrounding area can be found at: . Hotel reservations can be made through the meeting registration website at, or directly with the Peaks Resort.

Plan to register for the meeting online at Registration fees are as follows:

Before 6/1/10 After 6/1/10
Members $650.00 $700.00
Non-Members $750.00 $800.00
Non-member 1 st Meeting $650.00 $700.00
Residents $250.00 $250.00
Senior(non-member) $250.00 $300.00
SeniorMember $100.00 $100.00


Honorary members, and guest speakers are not charged registration fees. Fees for social activities will be available online when registering for the meeting.

Payment for registration should be made by check payable to the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society, and mailed, before arriving at the meeting, to:

Paul House M.D., Treasurer, RMNS
Bldg 550 Fifth Floor
175 North Medical Drive
Salt Lake City, Utah 84132

Please note that we are not set up to accept credit card payments for registration fees at the present time. Full payment for registration fees is expected by the start of the meeting. Refunds of registration fees or social activity fees cannot be honored after May 12th. Please contact Dr. House at 801-581-6908, or by email at if you have any questions regarding the meeting or registration.

Scientific Program
Dr. Allen Waziri is this year’s Scientific Program Chairman and has prepared a stimulating scientific program. The conference facilities at the hotel will provide the perfect location for the open exchange of ideas and discussion of interesting neurosurgical topics. The honored guest speakers for the annual meeting in Telluride will be Dr Lori Shutter, Neurointensivist from the Mayfield Clinic, and Dr. Guy Clifton Professor of Neurosurgery from UT Houston and author of “Flatlined: Resuscitating American Medicine”. Dr. Shutter will speak on advances in neuro intensive care and the management of mild TBI. Dr. Clifton will discuss issues related to health care reform. You will not want to miss these stimulating speakers.

Again this year we will have the Resident Award competition to entice resident participation and ongoing meeting attendance. The first place award for the best resident paper presented at the meeting now includes a $400 cash award, plus full travel expenses to attend the RMNS meeting, including airfare, hotel and registration fee. There will also be awards for second and third place resident papers, with a $200 cash award to each.

And don’t forget the Ninth Annual Academy Cup to be presented for the best paper from a practicing neurosurgeon (active or associate member). As in the past, we encourage you to bring interesting or difficult Firing Line cases for presentation and discussion with our distinguished guest professors.


Abstracts for the meeting may still be submitted on the website at This year’s meeting promises to be a delightful social and collegial scientific exchange in an awe inspiring mountain setting. We look forward to seeing you in Telluride


Certification of continuing medical education is under the direction of Dr. Joseph Beshay and the CME Committee. This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essentials and Standards of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint sponsorship of the AANS and Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society, Inc. The AANS is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians. The American Association of Neurological Surgeons designates continuing medical education activity for a maximum of 16 hours in Category 1 credit toward the AMA Physician’s Recognition Award. Remember, each physician should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in educational activity.


This year we have the pleasure of welcoming the following exhibitors to the Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society’s annual meeting. Additional exhibitors are still in the process of making plans to attend. Don’t forget to thank your representatives for their company’s support.

Aesculap Integra

Biomet Medtronic

Globus Novartis

IMRIS Synthes


Membership Committee

The Membership Committee and the Executive Committee are reviewing the following applicants for membership in the Society. Final approval will be determined by a vote of the membership at the annual business meeting.

Joseph E. Beshay, MD Dallas, Texas

Warren G. Roberts, MD Louisville, Colorado

Mark N. Robinson, MD Denver, Colorado

Kelly Schmidt, MD Las Vegas, Nevada


The following members made requests to the Treasurer for a status change: none

The Society encourages membership applications from those practitioners within our geographic boundaries who specialize in neurosurgery or the allied neurosciences. Applications are available through the Secretary of the RMNS (see address below), or from the website (, and must be submitted six months in advance of the annual meeting in order to be considered for membership that year.

Other News

Spring and Fall Newsletters are available on our website, As noted previously in this newsletter ON-LINE REGISTRATION for our annual meeting is available. If you want to review the newsletter, or just need to remind yourself (or spouse) about meeting specifics, you can easily access the materials on-line. On-line registration for our annual meeting is FAST and EASY!

The reproduction of the RMNS historical archive into electronic format is available on-line at our website, Our historian, Dr. Al Capanna, is requesting submission of any digital photographs of past or future meetings for inclusion in the digital archives.

2010 Annual Dues statements have gone out. Don’t forget to submit them to:

Paul House M.D., Treasurer, RMNS

Department of Neurosurgery

University of Utah Bldg 550 Fifth Floor

175 North Medical Drive

Salt Lake City, Utah 84132



We look forward to seeing you and your family in Telluride.


A. Stewart Levy, M.D., Secretary, RMNS

InterMountain Neurosurgery

4101 West Conejos Place, Suite 225

Denver, CO 80204

Phone: 303-595-6765